Portable Nonsense

Forgotten Texts | "Two Peas" a screenplay for a short film

Not sure what prompted this one. I was probably aiming to write something that was actually less complicated and short that I could reasonably film myself. As opposed to just telling myself that I'd try that and end up writing a bunch of real expensive crap with explosions again...

Note: It looks like my attempts at formatting this more like a screenplay have made it real weird on some mobile devices. So I've hastily added a link for mobile users just in case here.

Date of original writing: Around 2017?

INT. KITCHEN

It's a house party. Allison and Ken have found themselves a corner to themselves.

ALLISON

I know. I- There’s a guy I know who insists on being called a physiotherapist even though he’s only taken a single massage course… Online.

Ken laughs.

KEN

That’s just stupid.

ALLISON

So goddamn stupid.

KEN

This is so good by the way.

Ken gestures to his ice cream.

ALLISON

I told you.

KEN

I’m sorry I doubted you.

ALLISON

Don’t worry about it.

KEN

Do you want to have sex?

ALLISON

I don’t know. I did just have two bowls of ice cream.

KEN

Yeah me too. Just thought I’d ask in case I never got the chance again.

ALLISON

You could always ask for my number.

KEN

Yeah but that sounds like a whole thing.

ALLISON

How so?

KEN

We start doing stuff together, we meet each other’s families…

ALLISON

Can’t argue with that. My ideal man is a rich orphan.

KEN

What about your un-ideal man?

Allison thinks for a second.

ALLISON

He’s got like a big shark wound on his face.

Ken laughs.

ALLISON

And-

KEN

And?

ALLISON

And he bleeds soy sauce.

Ken laughs.

EXT. BACKYARD

Ken and Allison sit side by side on a picnic table.

The stars blanket the night sky above them.

Ken and Allison both look out and around mentally preparing themselves for something.

At the same time they both move in to kiss the other.

They stop.

ALLISON

Were you about to kiss me on the cheek?

KEN

That depends on what you were doing.

ALLISON

I- I don’t remember.

Awkward silence.

KEN

You wanna just- ?

ALLISON

Yeah, what the hell.

Ken and Allison kiss. Not quickly but not too slowly either.

They reluctantly pull away from each other.

ALLISON

Do you want to know a secret?

KEN

Pretty girl wants to tell you a secret. You say yes.

ALLISON

I’ve never done that before.

KEN

That can’t be true.

ALLISON

It’s not anymore.

KEN

Happy to help.

Ken yawns, trying to hide it poorly. Allison yawns in response.

KEN

I hate to say it.

ALLISON

I hate to hear it.

INT. TAXI

Ken and Allison sit in the back of a taxi as it drives through the night.

ALLISON

Do you ever stop to think, what kind of god would let spiders exist?

KEN

I haven’t but I will now. Thanks for that.

ALLISON

I mean they’re pure evil, right?

KEN

I don’t know what you mean but I know exactly what you mean.

The taxi slows to a stop.

KEN

Will I see you again?

ALLISON

I haven’t been drafted so yeah probably.

KEN

You have good jokes.

ALLISON

You have good taste.

They share a smile.

KEN

I’ll see you.

ALLISON

Okay.

They look into each other’s eyes.

KEN

Until then, then.

ALLISON

Then, then.

They share one more kiss.

Ken gets out of the taxi.

The taxi drives away.

Split-screen on them both as they smile to themselves.

END

#archives #creative writing #forgotten texts #life #love #screenplay #screenwriting #short #writing